adener

Interesting Finding

So, my Mini decided to surprise me today on the highway. I'm still new to these cars, loving every second of it, but still have a lot to learn about the details.

The Scoop came with a 6 speed getrag. I started driving automatic but in the past 2 weeks, I really got into driving it "manual" (well, ya know, as manual as getrag can be). It even has the shift pedals on the steering wheel. Loads of fun. Can also squeeze out another 2 mpg out of the car, since the automatic has a tendency to shift at 3500-4000rpm; way too high for everyday traffic.

Anyways, coasting on I70 at 6th gear, the traffic slowed down and I dipped below 2000rpm and Scoop just sort of slumped. I got lazy and didn't shift below to accelerate. I just floored the gas pedal instead.

Much to my surprise, the pedal didn't stop when it hit the bottom. There was some sort of a "button" there that clicked. Scoop shifted itself to 3rd gear automatically and pushed the engine to the redline. I'm not sure if it was supposed to do something different and me not driving it automatic messed something up. Either way, it was a little scary to have that happen in relatively heavy traffic! :laugh:

I'm still wondering what that was. Anyone have any idea?

2006 MCS: Hyper Blue w/ white roof. Cold weather, Sports, 17" w/ flame spokes.

Not having the auto, I'd have to guess that there's an automatic kickdown feature. My "reasoning" would be that if someone were in a situation where they need to move quick and in a panic, they forget to downshift, they push the loud pedal to the floor and the ECU will drop the tranny to the "right" gear and away you go! Kinda like Mr. Toad's wild ride....

I've only driven one MINI and it was 1st Gen "Just a MINI" and that convinced me that the manual was the way to go. I hope the GETRAG and the MCS does better.

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon "Homer"

2012 MB/CR JCW R55 "Merlin" Sold

2009 LB/LB R56 "Archie" Sold